BloggBobbe

A blog about a swedish guy in Japan. Interesting.

First entry.

Kategori: Japan

Greetings fellow followers and welcome to my blog.
Some of you might have followed me on my youtube channel and some might be new. Either way, it´s fun to have readers, the more the merrier.
Basically, I have already been in Japan for a few days. I landed here on the 29th of December 2015 and as you can probably see the todays date is the 3rd of January 2016.
But to summarize my whole experience so far as my first entry, I´ll just start from day one and rant about what has happened.

First of all, I landed with the plane, obviously (wasn´t too obvious for me though who still thought I had to change planes even though I was already at Narita Airport. Lack of sleep is fun). After I had landed I had to go by bus to my new crib (a share house located in Shimokitazawa), which was about a 1-2 hours travel.
As soon as I signed the contract for my room and finally entered it, I went to bed. Thing is, I was smart enough to think "hey, let´s go to IKEA as soon as I get to the house and sign the contract, that way I don´t have to bring pillows etc!". Yeah I regret that. It was pretty cold so the first night was basically me laying in bed all curled up and shivering.

Day 2!
I went to IKEA. That was the priority of the day. Or more like, I had planned it all along before I even left for Japan. Luckily, I had help from a friend of a friend who actually spoke japanese (did I mention I don´t speak japanese yet?). So she helped me with guiding me to IKEA, my neutral ground, and she also helped me find home, which was very appreciated.
As soon as I got home with my new IKEA stuff, I instantly threw myself into bed and slept like a baby.

Day 3! (this is getting tedious but now you don´t have to complain I don´t put up enough content).
This was the day to celebrate new years eve. So basically, as I did not know anyone else at this point, I asked my IKEA partner what plans she had, and apparently we were going to a party at someones apartment on the other side of Tokyo (I think). Either way, we had a blast. I convinced myself before we got there that I wouldn´t drink that much because I had to find my way home later on. I have never lied to myself as much as I did at that point. Absolut vodka was on the table when we got there so it was basically mine for the rest of the night. It was really nice that I got meet several new faces that were so kind and that I also managed to build a form of friendship with. That being said, we didn´t manage to go out for the countdown to the next year which was planned to be at Tokyo tower for us. We kept on partying in the apartment instead and we switched location to a hub(?) instead located.. somewhere.. (I am surprised I got home that night). We drank and ate good food for quite a long time, but it had to end sometime, so we headed home (as I still don´t remember how I managed to do).

Day 4!
I ate
 
and I slept. That pretty much summarizes day 4.

Day 5!
Feels like it was a bit late, but time to explore my neighborhood!
It only took a total of 4-5 days for me to actually head out and see what my town has to offer! It started off at McDonalds, which is always a good start I suppose (especially in Japan since it is so much better than the McDonalds restaurants we have in Sweden) and I then headed out towards the streets of Shimokitazawa. Mostly, it was just me looking around at shops. That has been my impression of Shimokitazawa so far; shops, shops, shops, bars, shops, McDonalds! shops and more shops. Not saying it is a bad place, it is just that I have probably been walking in circles and not actually managed to see what the town as a whole has to offer, so I have to blame myself for that.
After walking around for a fair amount of hours, I decided to head home since it was getting very late (I´ve always woken up late because I havn´t adapted to the different time zone yet I suppose) and tried to sleep. Sleep is not a thing that has been in my favor so far, it has always ended up with me waking up at 03:00 - 04:00 AM and walking over to 7-eleven (3 minutes away, cheers) to get food. Food made me sleep better. Yay food.

Day 6!
I actually put my alarm clock on so I would wake up early and head out to Akihabara in time, and also to try and restore my sleeping schedule. Started off by eating breakfast (doritos and a drinking yoghurt for around 200yen, not bad), brushed my teeth etc etc, standard morning routine.
And I was off! A fairly long trainride to Akihabara was up ahead. I am fairly surprised how a sleepy and confused Swede like myself managed survive the 30-40 minute ride to Akihabara, but I actually managed to find the trains I had to go with very decently. 
My visit in Akihabara was mainly just walking around and looking. Since I was alone, I figured I would just walk around and see all parts of the town, rather than running into every shop and arcade hall and spend the whole day inside of them.
Fair amount of time was spent in Akihabara and I decided to go home.

And here I am, home after a long day at Akihabara and I am sitting here, resting and ranting about my whole experience about Japan so far.


Next entry (or whatever you want to call it), will surely not be this long, I will of course try to summarize it better and also keep an even pace on the blogging, so I don´t have to tell you my whole life story in a single post.

I hope you enjoyed the reading and if you have any questions or any feedback or basically just want to throw out a comment, feel free to do so!

KOMMENTARER:

  • jacob olsson säger:
    2016-01-03 | 13:43:33

    lägg videos istället

    Svar: Tyvärr så kan jag inte göra det då jag delar internet med resterande här och det tar för mycket på internet etc så då kommer jag få betala extra. No go
    Robert Wennberg / Bobbe

  • Baran säger:
    2016-01-04 | 05:49:05

    Jag ser fram emot å hänga med på denna resa!!

    Svar: Tack Baran! Kul att höra!
    Robert Wennberg / Bobbe

  • En japanintresserad säger:
    2016-01-07 | 04:58:15

    Häftigt! Vad gör du i Japan? Skulle själv vilja åka dit.

  • En japanintresserad säger:
    2016-01-07 | 04:59:07

    Häftigt! Vad gör du i Japan? Skulle själv vilja åka dit.

    Svar: Jag kommer att studera språket här på nybörjarnivå i 1 år! Så jag bor i ett så kallat "share house" tillsammans med andra studerande/arbetande människor!
    Robert Wennberg / Bobbe

  • Åsa Wennberg säger:
    2016-01-09 | 18:14:11

    Hej😃
    Vad roligt att du skaffat en blogg. Så vi kan följa dig.
    Det blir både intressant/roligt o spännande.
    Det var kul att få läsa vad du har gjort o upplevt.
    Lycka till. Håller tummarna.
    Kram Åsa o pappa

  • Anders Gustafsson säger:
    2016-01-13 | 23:33:48

    Hmm, nomihadai var det eller? Tror jag kommer över en sväng...

    Svar: Lite respons från min sida! Men jag tror du skulle älska det här, god mat och öl för en billig peng, kan inte bli bättre än så :)
    Robert Wennberg / Bobbe

Kommentera inlägget här: