BloggBobbe

A blog about a swedish guy in Japan. Interesting.

2 weekends in one blog entry!

Kategori: Japan

Greetings fellow readers! I apologize for the delayed blog entry, there has been a lot to do at school and then at weekends I have tried to enjoy myself as much as possible, so I did not have any spare time or energy for a new entry, but now I do! So enjoy reading about my 2 weekends that have passed!

16/1-2016
This was the day that we celebrated Julias birthday (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFZPUintr6_5tEKTxYOzzCg  -  their vlog channel) at TGI fridays! It was a surprise party for her so hopefully she got fairly surprised when she walked blindfolded through Shibuya to TGI fridays where we sat and waited for her to arrive. It was a lot of fun both celebrating her birthday and also seeing the expression on her face when she took her blindfold off!
 
 
Make sure to check out their vlog at youtube for the videos they put up for more visual content rather than just text!

After the celebration at TGI Fridays, we headed over to a "Nomihodai" somewhere located in Shibuya, which is basically as I have mentioned before, an "all you can drink" for around 1000 yen (70kr~ / 8USD~) for 2 hours. It was pretty sad though since one of our friends actually had to wait for around 45 minutes for her first beer, and the food we ordered took long to get as well, and it did not taste that good... So we were a bit dissapointed about that, but we had eachother and alcohol, so it was fun either way!
 
 
After drinking a lot of alcohol, we headed out and came up with the brilliant idea to find a place to sit down and keep drinking alcohol until the trains started going the day after at the morning. Bad thing was, we did not find any place like that, and we ended up walking from Shibuya to Shinjuku where we basically just.. Walked around for a couple of hours. We did find a place later on that was open until 4 a.m, so we sat down there, tired and exhausted from walking around and ordered some alcohol again in the wait for the time to become 5 a.m (when the trains started going again). So after about 5 long hours of waiting, trains started going again and we just headed straight home so we could go to sleep.

17/1-2016
Hungover, exhausted and blisters all over my feet just because I decided to use my most uncomfortable shoes I had for Julias birthday (but they looked good, totally worth it), and I did not expect us to walk as much as we did. Either way, my plan for this sunday was to just stay at home and relax, but later on that day I found out that James, who is also living at the share house I am at, had his birthday today! So he had asked if other people from the house wanted to go out and eat together with him at a curry place for his celebration, and of course I could not decline that offer. So the day was fairly slow until it became late and we headed out to a place called "Magic Curry" I believe, where we ordered delicious curry and some beers (again) for me!
 
 
After that restaurant visit it was basically just me staying at my room since it was fairly late and my whole body was tired, so most likely I went to bed, I can´t really remember... But either way, it was a day worth remembering, I had a lot of fun with my housemates just going out for dinner and talking about pretty much everything!

Yesterday
Last schoolday of the week, of course it had to be celebrated by going out for drinks! Steve had been invited to go drinking by some of his classmates and people from his school (ISI Language School) and he had been told to invite people as well if he wanted to, so he had invited me. I was a bit late though, since they could start drinking at around 5 p.m, which was around when I quit my school for the day. So I had to go home, drop off my heavy bag and change into more appropriate clothing. So I did, and then I made my way to Takadanobaba, where a group of probably 20 people were waiting for ME. It felt a bit awkward, coming from the train station alone, beeing greeted by 20 different people who had been waiting for me to arrive so we could head out and drink, but none of them were mad or anything, they were probably just happy that they could finally move along to a place where they could drink, now that I had finally arrived! 
Our destination for the night was a "Hub", which is basically an England-inspired pub which you can find all over Tokyo, but it is a really nice place to go to since there are a mix of foreigners coming there as well as japanese people, so it is a perfect place to exchange words with other students as well as working japanese people!
After too many beers and shots, we decided to go home a bit earlier, so we wouldn´t miss the last train as we did last weekend. The people we arrived with had either split up already or was all over the place, so the party for us was on the edge of being over, so it didn´t feel like we would miss out on anything anyways, so going home was probably the right thing to do!

Today
Steve, Julia, Mathilda, Nate and me went to Akihabara today, which is also knows as "Electric Town", filled with arcades and various weird shops. But our first stop was at "Beckers Burgers", where I had the most amazing burger a few weeks ago, and it was even more amazing this time when you had a hangover! Sadly, I did not manage to snap a picture of the food since I pretty much swallowed that burger whole because I hadn´t got anything to eat for the whole day up until then and it was around 3 p.m. 
After stuffing our faces with delicious burgers, we ventured out to find some fun arcades where we could play games together. It wasn´t really that difficult finding places with entertainment since the whole town is basically filled with flashing lights and various video games. For a game-interested Swede like me, I was like a small child on christmas eve walking around in Akihabara. 
Basically the whole day was spent playing video games and going through various stores with some cool stuff.
 
I found this little guy at a store and decided to give him a home since he was so ugly.
 
 
Stores were starting to close at around 8 p.m, so we figured we should get something to eat before we head home, so we went to a kebab place that Steve and Julia had been to on their last visit to Japan, and apparently the kebab there was really good (how japanese of us). And they were correct, it was a really good kebab, not sure if it was my hangover saying it was really delicious or not, but still, I was satisfied.
After that meal though, we decided to go for a "fika" at a café Mathilda has found out about, so that was our next stop before going home! My stomach was so full from the kebab, but who can say no to desserts?
 
 
Especially when it looks like that.
It took 30 minutes for them to make it, but that was because (what I suppose) they baked the bread so it would be freshly made. So yeah, it was a loaf of bread, stuffed with crutons and then banana split ice cream on top and a small bowl of honey on the side where you dipped the crutons in. It was so delicious, but so sweet, so I could only handle about half of it, also because it was so huge. It was worth trying it out though, but next time I might settle with something smaller instead!
After this sugarbomb we headed into an arcade next to the station and played just a few games before going home. 

Tomorrow
Sunday is coming up for me and the plan for that day will be studying japanese only! Seems kind of weird though, since all I have been posting about so far is my entertaining experiences... Truth be told though, going to school here is a lot of fun! At first it felt like it was going to be an impossible task and I started wondering what I had gotten myself into, but after a few weeks, I now realize that this is exactly the thing I want to do, even though it is fairly difficult at times, it will be worth it, and I am enjoying myself. I am not a master at japanese yet of course, but I do know some basic phrases, such as how to order at restaurants, asking for directions, asking for someones phone number (very useful indeed) and so on. I will try to keep you updated on how it´s going with my studies as well if you are interested in that! That is why I am here after all.

Stay tuned for my next entries! They will most likely be posted on saturdays/sundays, since those are the days I have time to sit in front of the computer! 
Kommentera inlägget här: