BloggBobbe

A blog about a swedish guy in Japan. Interesting.

Space museum and mountain climbing!

Kategori: Japan

2016-02-15
Another lovely monday morning, which means it is basically just school the whole day. So why am I writing about a monday? Well that is because I met up with Elvira (who's blog you can find at: yolojapan.blogg.se ) to get a swedish "fika" to start off the day. We had not met for a while, so it was really nice catching up over a smoothie-like drink. She also told me that she had been published in this weeks (2016-02-15  -  2016-02-21) number of the swedish magazine called "Veckorevyn", where she mentions how it is in Japan and how she got here etc. Make sure to check out her blog if you are interested in Japan! (Which you should be since you are reading my blog, duh). We had our drinks and talked for a few hours, then it was time for me to walk to school. So she accompanied me to school so I could show her how it looked like and then went our separate ways. From there on it was just a normal school day where I learn japanese day in and day out, which is a lot of fun! Although it can get pretty infuriating sometimes that you do not understand everything in the books or from the lessons, you do get a hang of most of it and it feels really good when you can actually make use of it in the daily and ordinary life here in Japan!

2016-02-17
Another day at school where I thought everything would be like normal. Go to school, go home, get something to eat, shower, study, sleep. But that was not the case today, and that is why I am writing about it obviously! Today was the day that me, Antonio, Tingting and Idit were going to the Space museum called TenQ! It was a lot of fun and also different from just going out partying basically every weekend, and of course the company was just amazing (I really love my class and my classmates, could not have asked for anything better than this, just had to point that out). So we were introduced to a really psychadellic/trippy show at the start where the walls were moving (kind of) and it was really awesome. Sadly, you were not allowed to take any pictures or film inside when that show was ongoing, but there will be other pictures, do not worry. After that trippy show, there was another show in 4K that took you around space, which was really trippy as well, since you stood over a railing, looking down at the floor below where the movie took place.
After the movie shows, we got to walk around the actual museum and read about different things about space, such as the robot that landed on mars called Curiosity.
When we were done, we decided to head home since it was getting fairly late, so that was the end of our eventful day!
 
Some food we got before the museum.
 
 From left to right: Me, Idit, Tingting and Antonio
 
 Somebodys precious rock collection.
 
 Anyone ever wondered what space tastes like?
 
 We got to board the Death Star from Star Wars as well. This was the space museum after all.
 
 I also made a new friend.
 
 And my new friends happy child.
 
2016-02-18
Figured I could write about this day as well, even though it was not THAT eventful, some stuff actually happened that does not usually happen, so why not.
Me and Antonio and Idit figured we would go out today again, but instead go to an arcade and play some games together, just to actually do stuff outside of the classroom, which is nice for a change. 
They have this drumming game at the arcades all around Japan which is really fun (and also really sweatty) that we decided to play a little bit. Idit had to go home a bit earlier, since she had her dog to take care of (a cute golden retriever), me and Antonio stayed to play a bit more. It did not end up with a lot of playing though, but instead we headed to a nearby Hub (English pub) to grab some beers and some food. It was really nice and relaxed, rather than being in a loud and flashy arcade center. Up until some people behind us decided to sit down with a huge company and screaming on top of their lungs when they were talking to eachother. I am not sure if they had a screaming competition or not, but we decided to leave since they basically ruined the whole atmosphere in there. 
 
2016-02-19
School's done for this week, and the weekend has finally arrived. I had gotten dressed up as I usually do when it is fridays because, yeah, you need to party and celebrate that it is finally weekend. So I headed over to Hanakoganei (approx. 40 minutes from Shibuya) which is where Julia, Steve and Matilda lives. The plan for the day was to drink some alcohol and play games at their social residence. A friend of Julia and Steve also accompanied us, called Alex. She actually helped me the first days I was here in Japan by going to IKEA and translating for me when it came to electronics etc, so it was really nice meeting her again! 
But yeah, not much happened this day apart from playing video games, UNO and also consuming a lot of alcohol (as usual).
 
2016-02-20
Today was the day I had been waiting for, which was the Borderless House party! It was basically a party arranged by the company I am renting a room/share house from. Me, Julia and Steve were going to attend it together since I had invited them to the event, so they were allowed to come as well. We did go to the location it was held at, in the rain... And when we got there, we were basically soaking wet (even though we had umbrellas) and my converse had turned from the color dark blue, to pitch black from the water. We looked through the window to the party and just looked at each other and walked away. We did not feel like going in there because it just did not feel like the right place for us to be at. So we took the party somewhere else, naturally! It was saturday, so it is mandatory for you to drink alcohol if you are in Japan.
We went to Kichijoji, which is 20 minutes away from my town where I live at, and also at the same train line, so it was really easy for me to get home later on. Anyways, Julia, Steve and me went to a American style bar, where they had "Bingo". For every drink you ordered, you got a number, and depending on the number you could make a mark on your "Bingo plate" until you had 5 in a row (I bet most of you know how Bingo works). If you did get 5 in a row, the restaurant would pay you and your company a total of 5,000yen! Thing is, we had ordered a lot of drinks so far, so none of us actually felt like staying there just to try and get bingo, since we were still 2 marks away from getting it. 
I also forgot to mention that Maja from my share house accompanied us at the American restaurant, which was very nice getting to spend some time with her outside of the house and also introducing her to Steve and Julia! 
She did leave after the restaurant visit though, since she is actually a healthy person and takes care of her body, so she had to go out running earlier the next morning.
The rest of us are unhealthy people, so we continued our night looking for drinks. That is when I had to call for backup on where to go, so I called my friend Gwyn from class, who have recently moved to Kichijoji! We met up with him at the station and we ended up at the cozy rum bar that me and Gwyn visited last weekend. It was a really nice ending for the saturday night!
 
A lot of food for a bunch of hungry Swedes.
 
2016-02-21
Today, I am really tender in my whole body... Is it because I am hungover from all the drinking? Nope. It is because today we climbed Mt. Takao! Which is 599 metres tall, which probably is not that big of a deal, but when it had rained like crazy yesterday, some of the trails were closed, so we took the longest one I believe (3.9 k.m if I remember correctly). Walking through narrow muddy paths and steep steps it got fairly tiring. But it was sunny and it felt nice doing something like this for a change. So even though it was pretty tiring, we still got amazing views over Tokyo and some good exercise! One of the best days so far in Japan in my opinion. We will definitely go back to the mountain another day to climb it on another route (they had 6 or 7 routes to choose from I think), since we missed the 2 routes we actually wanted to climb. They were both closed due to the rain yesterday, so it was really slippery and dangerous on those specific 2 routes. 
Apart from that, we were really happy (I was at least) but also very tired on the way home. There is not much else to say about that experience, I will let the pictures speak for themselves.
When I went home, I stopped by at Mister Donut.. I had to reward myself for my achievement of course, and why not do it with a 7-pack of donuts for 1,000yen!
So right now, I am stuffing my face with donuts, in front of the computer, writing this new entry for the week!
 
Started from the bottom.
 
Stumbled upon a shrine 5 minutes after the start of the trail.
 
Halfway there!
 
Pretty trees.
 
Suddenly we are at the top!
 
Another great view.
 
Restaurants and vending machines.
 
Glancing off into the distance.
 
Still admiring the view.
 
Ok, stop admiring the view.
 
That's better!
 
Aaaaand admiring the view again. (Japanese ninja at the bottom-left)
 
An insane view of Tokyo!
 
Another one.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
We got lazy so we took the paved, family friendly way down.
 
But we got to see some cool shrines and architecture.
 
A cool lamp-post.
 
 
Hope you enjoyed the blog entry and stay tuned for next sunday!
 
 

KOMMENTARER:

  • Mamma säger:
    2016-02-21 | 20:22:40

    Wow vilken häftig upplevelse/Utflykt ni varit på :) Och massor av fina bilder...nu är mamma mkt nöjd ;) Blogginläggen innan Mt Takao var också jättetrevlig läsning o fina/roliga bilder! Pusspuss <3

    Svar: Tackar! Ska försöka införskaffa mig en egen kamera som jag kan ta bilder med då jag använde Steve och Julias. Då blir det ännu fler bilder i framtiden!
    Robert Wennberg / Bobbe

Kommentera inlägget här: