BloggBobbe

A blog about a swedish guy in Japan. Interesting.

Edo Museum and Penis Festival!

Kategori: Japan

Not a sunday, but close enough. Since I was fairly busy yesterday celebrating the penis festival in Kawasaki (which I will talk about later on) I did not really have time or enough strenght to put up an entry yesterday, so bare with me!
 
During my spring break in Japan, a lot of stuff has happened, although I have not really managed to take any pictures since I think the pictures I take look horrible, so I feel kind of unmotivated to do so.. I just steal pictures from everyone else in my company because they are actually good at taking the pictures. 
The things I have done during the break though is a lot of Ohanami watching, which is basically Sakura flower "festivals". People gather at various parks throughout Japan to have a picnic beneath the fully bloomed Sakura flowers, which are extremely beautiful and only fully bloomed during this period. There has also been hanging out with friends a lot, doing various things, so let's get a bit more specific with it!
 
First off I went to karaoke together with Idit, Melanie, TingTing and her boyfriend, Yoav and some other sweet german people! There was a lot of singing (obviously), a lot of drinking and a lot of fun involved, even though I hate singing, like really really hate it. It was also in celebration of "Purim", which is a jewish holiday, so we had to dress up, which I also really really hate. But in the end, it was all fun and games, I just came dressed in black (party pooper) but Idit had an "outfit" for me, luckily.. Thank you Idit...
 
As you can see I am very happy to be dressed up.
After the karaoke, we went to a "night club" of sorts. It was not that lively, but with good company, we had fun together, even though it was just me, TingTing and her boyfriend, and Yoav!
 
The next unique and extraordinary thing I have done during my break is that I went to the Edo museum together with Steve, Julia and Nate!
There is not that much to say about it, except that it was really fun and interesting, I will just let the pictures speak for themselves!
 
Starting off with a picture of me eating a "Sakura" inspired meal at McDonalds. Pink fries, drink and almost a pink hamburger!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
At least someone's really into Japans history.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All cred goes to Steve and Julia for taking all the pictures from the museum visit! Thank you very much!
 
And now to the finale and the reason to why there was no entry yesterday. The Penis Festival!
Oh yes, there is a penis festival in Japan, where I suppose they celebrate fertility. Looking aside from the fertility part and giving your respect to Gods etc. it was pretty intense when it came to.. everything that had the word "penis" connected to it. Penis lolipops, statues, mascots and more.
There was also a dance that people from my company joined in on, which was something about paying your respect to the Gods or some stuff like that, none of us had any idea what was going on. It was also Danielle's birthday, so it was the perfect opportunity to celebrate her! 
 
The birthday kid together with... Something.
 
He was ripped though, I'll give him that
 
This was the first thing we saw when we got off the train station, so we knew that the festival would be pretty intense!
 
 
 
 
 
 
And then was I mentioned before, we got to see some dancing. First off there was a dancing routine by some other older women/grandmas which we did not know what it was about, and it was fairly one-sided, nothing particular actually happened.
 
 
 
 
After their routine was finished, about 5 minutes later there was another group of older women/grandmas that was a bit more interesting, since our group of people started getting pulled in to join them, and later on, a ton of people from the festival started jumping in!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
There is also a video of when the dance routine started, which you can see if you click here (Video).
I never joined, since I absolutely hate dancing and I had to document the whole process obviously.. But it was a very fun experience. An experience I will probably never encounter again, not like this!
 
 
 
 
 
These are some of the pictures I took on the way towards Matilda and Danielles share house, were we continued celebrating her birthday by having cake and making tacos! (Alcohol was involved as well, of course)
Matilda also helped out by sending some of her pictures, so it's a mix between her and mine, so thank you for the material Matilda!
 
This is all I have to talk about this time, and I apologize that it might not be as much material or detailed explanation as it's used to be, but it is what it is! Hopefully next time I will have more to talk about and more to share with all of you, my readers!

Hope you tune in next time!

KOMMENTARER:

  • JW säger:
    2016-04-04 | 18:40:21

    Jag visste att japaner var sjuka men det här är på en helt ny nivå! Dom lär ju gå ner på knä för dig!
    Köpte du ingen klubba eller?

    Svar: Haha ja och detta är bara 1 utav fler skumma festivaler som jag kommer gå på i framtiden!Klubba köpte jag! Den blåa klubban som är med i inlägget är min!
    Robert Wennberg / Bobbe

  • Anonym säger:
    2016-04-04 | 18:41:32

    Sjukt, varför finns inte de här

    Svar: Haha det är en bra fråga! Tror inte det skulle gå hem lika mycket hemma i Sverige :)
    Robert Wennberg / Bobbe

  • Mamma säger:
    2016-04-04 | 18:55:06

    Så kul att se bilder från alla dina upplevelser :) Roligt att dom drog in Danielle i dansen ( o en till vem det nu var )!

    Svar: Ja det var riktigt kul! Även fast det var mot deras vilja, så blev det ändå kul till slut! :)
    Robert Wennberg / Bobbe

  • Cribbli! säger:
    2016-04-04 | 19:00:10

    Hahaha vafan penis festival, only in japan xD

    Svar: Haha yyy, det är här allt händer x)
    Robert Wennberg / Bobbe

Kommentera inlägget här: